Belmont Stakes: The Test of a Champion and the Oldest Triple Crown Race


**The Thrilling Finale of the Triple Crown: The Belmont Stakes**

Get ready for the grand finale of the Triple Crown series, as the prestigious Belmont Stakes gallops into view. While this edition won’t crown a Triple Crown champion, the allure of witnessing equine excellence remains unwavering, drawing thousands to Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

**A Field of Ten Contenders**

Ten exceptional thoroughbreds will be vying for glory in the Belmont Stakes:

  1. Mystik Dan, victor of the Kentucky Derby
  2. Seize the Gray, winner of the Preakness Stakes

**The “Test of a Champion”: The 1.5-Mile Challenge**

The Belmont Stakes is renowned as the most grueling race in the Triple Crown, demanding extraordinary stamina from its participants. The 1.5-mile course puts the horses’ endurance to the ultimate test, making it a true testament to their athleticism.

**A Storied History**

The Belmont Stakes has been a symbol of equine grandeur since 1867, when it first took place at Jerome Park. After relocating several times, the race found its permanent home at Belmont Park, where it has been held for over a century.

**The Legendary Secretariat**

No discussion of the Belmont Stakes can be complete without mentioning Secretariat. The legendary racehorse holds the unbeatable record for the fastest Belmont Stakes time (2:24), set in 1973.

Belmont Stakes: The Test of a Champion and the Oldest Triple Crown Race
Secretariat’s legendary feat still stands as the fastest Belmont Stakes time.

**Fascinating Facts**

  • Betting is a significant component of the Belmont Stakes, adding an element of excitement and potential winnings.
  • Fans enjoy the spectacle from both the racetrack and the comfort of their homes or local sports bars.
  • The Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes differ significantly in race length, with the latter being much longer and more challenging.

**Other Notable Finishers**

  1. Easy Goer (2:26, 1989)
  2. A.P. Indy (2:26, 1992)
  3. Risen Star (2:26 2/5, 1988)
  4. American Pharoah (2:26.65, 2015)
  5. Tabasco Cat (2:26 4/5, 1994)
  6. Secretariat wins the Belmont Stakes
    Secretariat’s Triple Crown triumph solidified his place in horse racing history.

    **Risen Star’s Redemption**

    Risen Star, son of Secretariat, captured the 1988 Belmont Stakes after an impressive come-from-behind victory. Despite trailing from the first few turns, Risen Star gradually closed the distance and ultimately surpassed the leader, Winning Colors, for the thrilling win.

    **Justify Completes Redemption**

    11 years after American Pharoah’s iconic victory, Justify joined the elite circle of Triple Crown winners in 2018. His Belmont Stakes victory capped off a season of dominance and earned him a place among the sport’s all-time greats.

    **The 1994 Thriller: Tabasco Cat’s Surge**

    The Belmont Stakes is not only about long-term endurance but also strategic sprints. In 1994, Tabasco Cat employed a thrilling outside move to surge past Go for Gin in the final stretch, securing a dramatic victory.

    **Creme Fraiche’s Remarkable Finish**

    Last but not least, Creme Fraiche overcame a slow start to triumph in the 1985 Belmont Stakes. Maintaining a steady pace throughout the race, Creme Fraiche nipped the leaders at the finish line for an unforgettable victory.

    As the Belmont Stakes approaches, equine enthusiasts around the world hold their breath, eagerly anticipating the thrilling spectacle that will unfold on the historic racetrack. Whether contested by a potential Triple Crown winner or not, the Belmont Stakes is a testament to the indomitable spirit and remarkable athleticism of these magnificent creatures.

    Data sourced from: